redirect pin user minus plus fax mobile-phone office-phone data envelope globe outlook retail close line-arrow-down solid-triangle-down facebook globe2 google hamburger line-arrow-left solid-triangle-left linkedin play-btn line-arrow-right solid-triangle-right search twitter line-arrow-up solid-triangle-up calendar globe-americas globe-apac globe-emea external-link music picture paper pictures play gallery download rss-feed vcard

Asian Insurance Investment in Real Estate

Asia Pacific Major Report | July 2014

Until recently, regulations relating to investment by Asian insurance companies were highly restrictive and limited the capital that insurers were able to deploy into real estate. However, this situation is gradually changing as authorities in a number of major markets have permitted overseas investment; increased allocations to real estate and simplified the approval process.

In recent years a number of leading insurance Asian insurers have begun to acquire real estate outside Asia Pacific, completing US$2.4 billion worth of transactions in 2013. Asian insurers are displaying a strong preference for trophy assets in gateway cities, particularly London and New York, with a deal size of over US$300 million. However, deploying capital to the global real estate market brings with it a number of challenges. These include the lack of overseas investment experience, tax issues and approval requirements.

CBRE Research expects insurers’ capital deployment to real estate to increase in proportion with the total asset size of the sector, which expanded at a rate of around 13% per annum between 2008 and 2013. The total real estate asset size of the Asian insurance sector is projected to reach US$205 billion by 2018, an increase of US$75 billion over the next five years.

This paper will provide an overview of the regulatory relaxations currently taking place; quantify the expected increase in investment; identify the challenges involved in investing overseas; and discuss the various channels via which Asian insurers can invest.

View press release


Contacts


Ada Choi, CFA
Head of Capital Markets Research, Asia Pacific
+852 2820 2871
ada.choi@cbre.com.hk
  Leo Chung, CFA
Senior Analyst, Asia Pacific
+852 2820 1527
leo.chung@cbre.com.hk
  Lawrence Chou
Analyst, Asia Pacific
+852 2820 1486
lawrence.chou@cbre.com.hk
         
Frank Chen, CFA
Head of Research China
+86 21 2401 1369
frank.chen@cbre.com.cn
  Justin Kim
Director, South Korea
+822 217​0 5855
justin.kim@cbrekorea.com
  Hiroshi Okubo
Head of Research Japan
+81 03 5288 9499
hiroshi.okubo@cbre.com.jp
         
Ping Lee
Senior Manager, Taiwan
+886 2 7706 9552
ping.lee@cbre.com​
  Greg Penn
Managing Director, Asia
+852 2820 2857
greg.penn@cbre.com.hk
  Marc Giuffrida
Executive Director
+65 9770 7322
marc.giuffrida@cbre.com.sg
         
Nick Crockett
Executive Director, Asia Pacific
+65 6229 1136
nick.crockett@cbre.com.sg
       


Infographic



Liberalisation and the Rise of Asian Insurance Investment in Real Estate